Sunday, May 19Dedicate to Right News

Once again BASIS President Russell T. Ahmed

Spread the love

The Executive Council 2024-2026 of Bangladesh Association of Software and Information Services (BASIS) has been formed with the determination to achieve self-sufficiency in indigenous software in implementing Smart Bangladesh. Team Creative CEO Russell T. Ahmed elected president for the second term in the absolute victory of 8 members of ‘One Team’ in the executive council of 11 members and M Rashidul Hasan, Managing Director of Systech Digital Limited, elected as Senior Vice President.

Syed Mohammad Kamal, Country Manager of MasterCard Singapore Holding Pte. Ltd., elected Vice President (Admin) and Iqbal Ahmed Fakhrul Hasan, Managing Director of Divine IT, elected Vice President (Finance).

Besides, the newly elected Director of BASIS is Md. Mostafizur Rahaman Sohel, Managing Director of Advanced ERP (BD) Ltd., Didarul Alam, CEO of Shooting Star Limited, Asif Rahman, founder of A. R. Communications, Dr. Muhammad Risalat Siddique, Chairman of Analyzen Bangladesh Limited, Mir Shahrukh Islam, Managing Director of Bondstein Technologies Limited, Biplob Ghosh Rahul, Director of Carnival Assure Limited and and Syed Abdullah Jayed, CEO of M/s. Finalytics.

Former Post and Telecommunication Minister Mustafa Jubbar, BASIS former President Sarwar Alam, Habibullah N Karim attended the handover ceremony to the new council at BASIS Conference Center on Saturday.  TIM Nurul Kabir, Chairman of BASIS Election Board, and BASIS Election Board members Syed Mamnun Quader and Nazim Farhan Choudhury were present during the ceremony. However, at this time, A. Towhid, founding president of BASIS and Chairman of the BASIS Election Appeal Board, and Nazneen Kamal, member of BASIS Election Appeal Board, were also present.

All the formalities related to the election of BASIS completed within the time frame set by the Directorate General of Trade Organizations (DTO) of the Ministry of Commerce through the handover ceremony of the Executive Council held at the BASIS Auditorium.

On the occasion, BASIS Senior Vice-President M Rashidul Hasan said, ‘BASIS mainly works to facilitate and support the business of its members. For this, a lot of time has to be spent with local and foreign stakeholders. We are now an association of around 2500 members, who do business in local and international markets. We need to work together to facilitate members’ business. Along with the elected 11, expert members of the industry are also required to be involved. Only then we can play a role in building Smart Bangladesh by 2041 by becoming experienced in frontier technology and earning foreign currency.’


Re-elected BASIS President Russell T. Ahmed said, ‘I think that our victory in this election is a victory for all BASIS members, a victory for BASIS. The victory of ‘One Team’ has come due to the absolute love of the members. I congratulate all the winners and also thank and appreciate the 33 candidates whose spontaneous participation made this election fair and beautiful. Taking over for the second time, I will aim to take BASIS to the next level with the brand image it has built and the reputation it has gained as one of the leading trade organizations in the country.’

He further said, “We have done several works during the first term and we have many more works in our plans. Aiming to take them further, I myself have gone through several learning experiences during my first tenure. We will try to take this learning experience together with the support and advice of experienced and young executive members to take our beloved organization forward. We want to make Bangladesh self-sufficient in ICT sector this time. The implementation of Smart Bangladesh will create many technical needs. We want to fulfill these technical needs through local ICT Companies. For that purpose, we will all work together in a coordinated manner.’

However, the election of the BASIS Executive Council 2024-2026, the national trade association of the country’s ICT sector, completed in a festive atmosphere at the Bangladesh Shooting Sports Federation, Gulshan in the capital on May 8. In the election, the Russell T. Ahmed-led panel ‘One Team’ won 8 out of 11 posts and got a majority. Mostafizur Rahman Sohel led panel ‘Team Smart’ got 3 positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *